Club Milestones - 2004 Munster J.A. Hurling Championship Final

Munster Junior A Hurling Final

December 12th 2004

Ballygarvan 0-16 Tramore (Waterford) 1-5

The year of 2004 is now drawing to a close, and it will be long remembered for the amazing performances of the Ballygarvan Junior A hurling team, who brought the curtain down on an incredible year with a fantastic eight point victory over Waterford champions Tramore in the Munster Junior club final in Fermoy on Sunday. Despite being handicapped with a rampant flu bug in the squad which left several players the worse for wear during the week, Ballygarvan opened very brightly and were four points to the good after ten minutes, the points coming from Stephen White, his brother Gary and two from the outstanding Morgan Sheehy. Ballygarvan were in complete control all over the field and only for some wasteful shooting would have been nearly out of sight after the first quarter. However as often happens in games like this, Tramore came storming right back in and levelled affairs in a two minute spell midway through the half with a quick fire goal and point. However Ballygarvan didn’t panic and the impressive Finbarr Barry knocked over a long range point to put Ballygarvan back in front. With the backs now dominant in all areas with Donal Sweeney and Ger Spillane particularly prominent, Ballygarvan drove forward in waves and points from Gary White, Liam Dillon and Finbarr Barry, with only a sole Tramore reply left the score standing at 0-8 to 1-2 at the break. The second half was no more than thirty seconds old when Ken Ashman further increased the Ballygarvan lead and from that moment they never looked back. For the next twenty minutes, Ballygarvan proceeded to play some of their finest hurling all year, and points from Liam Dillon (4) and Stephen White in that period without a single Tramore reply sealed the victory for Ballygarvan. The last ten minutes was pure heaven for all the loyal Ballygarvan supporters as Ballygarvan tagged over further points form Liam Dillon (2) and Finbarr Barry to seal another historic win.

Panel: Joe Kennefick, Donal Browne, Joe Spillane, Donal Sweeney, Ger Spillane, Cian O Conchuir, Alan Butler, Stephen White (0-2), Finbarr Barry (0-2), Gary White (0-2), Shane O Leary, Ken Ashman (0-1), Morgan Sheehy (0-2), Michael Dowd, Liam Dillon (0-7), Fintan Mackey, Brian Daly, Robert Bouse, David Bouse, Christian Connelly, Pat Donnellan, Stephen Looney, Micheal Spillane, Bernard O' Donavan, David O' Sullivan, Damien O' Sullivan, Barry Keohane, William O' Halloran, Pheilim O' Neill.

Trainers and Selectors: Jim Dowd, Finbarr Marshall, Pat Bouse, Paddy Mackey, Joe Kennefick